Board of Directors



Professor Ruth K. Oniang’o, Chairperson

Professor Ruth Oniang’o currently serves as Professor of Nutrition at the Great Lakes University of Kisumu. She is founder and editor-in-chief of the African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development and founder and leader of the Rural Outreach Program, a Kenya based NGO. She has served on a number of international boards, such as the International Fertilizer Development Center (IFDC), the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) and the Australian Centre of International Agricultural Research (ACIAR). She was a member of the Kenyan parliament, from 2002 to 2007, and Shadow Minister of Education, and currently chairs the Kenyan government’s thematic group for food security and nutrition.

Masaaki Miyamoto, Senior Executive Officer

Masaaki Miyamoto has held the position of Senior Executive Officer for SAA and SAFE since 2007 having previously been Director General. A trained economist, he was previously General Manager of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation. He has also worked for the Japan Ship Machinery Export Association as well as serving as Division Chief for The Space Exposition, run by The Nippon Foundation.

Jean Freymond

Jean Freymond funded and directed the Geneva-based Centre for Applied Studies in International Negotiations (CASIN). In 2007, he established GE&D, with the objective of simultaneously fostering entrepreneurship and creating the conditions for enhancing the capacity of doing business; and Geneva Dialogues, which aims to rethink governance and create the conditions for stakeholders to address complex societal issues such as global health.

Dr Amit Roy

Dr. Amit Roy, IFDC’s president and chief executive officer since 1992, has more than 35 years of experience in international agricultural development in more than 100 countries.
Under Dr. Roy’s leadership, IFDC’s programs have broadened to help create sustainable agricultural productivity around the world. From bringing farmers from poverty to prosperity to ensuring global food and nutrition security to environmental protection and economic growth, IFDC has helped farmers thrive.
Among other honors, Dr. Roy was instrumental in organizing the Africa Fertilizer Summit in Abuja, Nigeria, in June 2006; in 2008 he spoke before the Hunger Caucus of the U.S. House of Representatives and in 2012 was appointed to the Steering Committee of the Global Nutrient Management Project of the United Nations Environment Program.
Dr. Roy is working to expand IFDC’s successful fertilizer deep placement (FDP) technology from Bangladesh to other South Asian countries and sub-Saharan Africa and continuing to support the creation of the next generation of fertilizers through the Virtual Fertilizer Research Center, which he launched in 2010.

Nicéphore Soglo

Nicéphore Soglo has had a long and distinguished career in the service of his country, Benin. He was elected President in Benin’s first multiparty presidential election in March 1991 having first helped to guide his country to multiparty democracy. Before becoming President, he held senior positions at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank. In 2003, he was overwhelmingly elected as Mayor of his country’s capital city, Cotonou, and was re-elected in June 2008.

Board of Councillors

Shuichi Ohno

Shuichi Ohno, Executive Director of The Nippon Foundation, was appointed to this position in 2004. He joined the Foundation in 2001 as Director of International affairs. Under his leadership, the International Program Department of The Nippon Foundation has developed and supported a wide range of programs aimed at alleviating poverty and promoting human development around the world.

Jiro Hanyu

Jiro Hanyu was appointed Chairman of The Sasakawa Peace Foundation in September, 2008. Prior to this, he was President, and then Chairman, of The Sasakawa Peace Foundation (USA), following five years as President of the Japan International Transport Institute (JITI). He has also held posts at the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Tourism.

Dr Katsumi Hirano

Katsumi Hirano is Director General of IDE-JETRO (The Institute of Developing Economies, Japan External Trade Organization), a position he has held since 2008. He has had long experience of Sub-Saharan Africa in both the diplomatic and academic fields. From 2004 to 2007, he was Executive Director of JETRO Johannesburg Center. In the academic field, he was awarded the Okita Memorial Prize 2003 for his work entitled ‘illustrated Africa’s Economy’.

top of page